top of page
Writer's pictureNicholas J. Savage

Happy July!

So much to say, free books, and author Maria DeVivo.


July is here! That said, please be safe with fireworks over the holiday weekend. While I choose not to partake in them, having done them professionally for a short stint years ago, the best thing about this country is that you have the choice to do so, should you choose. I am not normally one to ramble on about freedom, but as July 4th approaches, it seems like an okay time to do so. I've known more than enough people whose Independence Day accidents left them with fewer fingers than they started with. So, be safe.


Coming up this month I have a book signing at Dragon's Den in Arcadia, FL on Saturday the 13th. This will be a double signing. Maria DeVivo will be there with me. I will spotlight her below. She has no idea I'm putting her in my newsletter. So, come on out and say hi. I have the rock n roll romance and fantasy covered. She covers the horror. Between the two of us, we pretty much have you covered.


On the 27th, Maria and I will be at the Gilded Page in Tarpon Springs, FL. In addition to us, we will also have Steve Altier and Amanda Byrd—children's and YA author and serial killer thrillers, respectively. So, if the 13th didn't cover your reading needs, the 27th will.


This past weekend was Tampa Bay Screams. It was their ninth year but first year with a new showrunner. That is a scary thing to be part of since you never know how the new runner will affect things. But after all is said and done, I could not be happier with trying out the event. Of course, I saw some convention regulars, and it's always a pleasure to see and speak with them. That never gets old. But there were so many new faces that only added to the delight.


I have to mention my wife for a second. She is a professional editor, but this is not why I am mentioning her. She is also a baker. I decided to get her a booth so she could sell. And sell, she did. Selling out of all he breads: lavender tea bread, cinnamon toast bread, lemon loaf, almond poppyseed, sourdough sandwich, sourdough, and rosemary sourdough. Every loaf and slice were gone by the middle of the second day. I could not be more proud of her for this accomplishment. While we do not ship overnight yet as the pricing is too much, for anyone local or anyone willing to drive to Champions Gate for some of the best bread you'll ever eat, here's the website: KrisCotter.com. Be sure to click the Handmade With Love at the top menu to see all the tasty baked goods!


My newest shirt designs were also a big hit with my Darth Vader, Who's Your Daddy being the surprise hit of the show! Check that out here.


While there, I got a chance to have a few conversations with a man named Jack O'Halloran. He is a veteran actor who's been in numerous film and television roles. My first encounter with him on screen was as Non, the silent but super scary Superman villain alongside General Zod in the Christopher Reeve's version. He was super nice and very talkative about so many things. A great sense of humor of a guy who didn't take himself too seriously. He was having a good time. And yes, I got his autograph for my wall. He going right next to my Amanda Sheperd autograph.


 

The West Haven Undead Book 5 and a Pilot


Book five is sitting pretty at 62.5k words. While that is still about 30k below where it needs to be, it is coming along and I am hoping to have it done soon(ish). Of course, that doesn't matter too much since book 4, A Vampire Named Allison is still on pre-order until August 26th when it releases.


I had a conversation with a buddy of mine yesterday about the series. He asked if book 5 will be the last and I said, "Yes and no," clearing that up for him. Yes, it will be the last in the story line of Connor, Scarlett, Allison and the gang. But the world is bigger than West Haven and there are many more stories in The Nation to be told. So, if you've been in so far, there's more to come!


And I mentioned a pilot. Well, I've been working with a team on making dreams come true. And one of the team took it upon himself to get notes from Hollywood professionals on the pilot we based off part of book 1, Us of Legendary Gods. I felt confident submitting the script and, after getting the notes back from two readers, feel even more confident as I enter the next round of rewrites. The notes we received were wonderful. Some praise, some critique. But none were off mark so much or so discouraging as to fold my cards and pursue a new career. So, onward we trudge! Very exciting times is about as much as I can say.


A Vampire Named Allison

 

Maria DeVivo



Maria DeVivo

Maria DeVivo writes horror and dark fantasy for both a YA and adult audience. Each of her series has been Amazon best-sellers and have won multiple awards since 2012. When not writing, she teaches Language Arts and Journalism to middle school students in Florida. A lover of all things dark and demented, the worlds she creates are fantastical and immersive. Get swept away in the lands of elves, zombies, angels, demons, and witches (but not all in the same place). Maria takes great pleasure in warping the comfort factor in her readers’ minds – just when you think you’ve reached a safe space in her stories, she snaps you back into her twisted reality.


I grabbed that bio from the 4 Horsemen Publications website. In my own words, Maria is a wonderful person who has a great sense of humor and can keep pace with the best of them. While I yet have had the opportunity to read her works, readers at cons always seem to walk away from her booth with a book or two. Let that speak for itself.


She started reading my Fairlane Series the other day while trapped in an airport and the text messages I've been getting from her on the characters have made me laugh. I am just glad she's enjoying the book. And I will say this, I would absolutely love to hear what you all think of my characters, Fairlane or otherwise. So feel free to tell me at theauthornicksavage@gmail.com about who you love or hate and why.


 

Free Romance Starters

An email from my publisher came through while writing this today. They are doing promotions on first in series and gave me a bunch of links. Now, these links are only good for the days listed, but you can get (more than just) The Fairlane Incidents from them. So, without further ado, I shall post the links and dates for you!


Free Romance Series Starters Mine is right under the banner! Good from July 4th-July 8th.


Bad Boy Redemption: Steamy Love Unleashed Scroll down a bit for mine. Valid July 6th-Aug 6th.


Free Smutty Romance I'm not too smutty but it works. Good from July 27th-Aug 27th.


 


The Fairlane Incidents

Finn Fairlane


Just a quick, final note after you grab the first novel for free. Finn Fairlane: The Complete Package as either an ebook or audiobook is the same price as one individual book, so if you are into readers or audiobooks, grab The Complete Package and get three books for the price of one!


 

Upcoming events!


July 13 Dragon's Den Books, Arcadia, FL

July 27th, Gilded Page, Tarpon Springs, FL

Aug. 3, Bartow Con, Bartow, FL

Aug. 16, Sarasota Con, Sarasota, FL

Sept. 13-15 Ancient City Con, St. Augustine, FL

Sept. 20-22 Ultra Con, West Palm Beach, FL

Oct. 4-6 Spookala, Tampa Bay, FL

Oct. 11-13 Spooky Empire, Orlando, Fl

Nov. 2 The Sorting Hat Celebration, Bartow, FL

Nov. 9 Sci Fi Pop Fest, Eustis, FL


I had to update some of my author links, especially to Facebook. So, if you are already following me, you should be fine. If you choose to stalk me from the shadows and click the LinkTree each time, check out the new links below.


As always, if you have any questions for me, want to know what makes me tick, or anything else, I can always be reached at Nick@TheAuthorNickSavage.com or at any of my links in my LinkTree https://linktr.ee/theauthornicksavage


 

The best gifts you can give an author are to leave an honest review and to tell your friends about us. Spread the love and until next month, be good.


 

4 Horsemen Publications 1768 Carlisle St, Clearwater, FL, 33755-2305

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page